Conservation of Mass

“No man has the right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training. It is a shame for a man to grow old without seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable.” -Socrates


The most difficult and noblest process one will ever undertake in life is conquering themselves. Oftentimes we strategically throw banana peels out in front of our own karts, leaving us to flail helplessly in the game of life. I will make it a perpetual mission to conquer mediocrity, starting with my own physical weakness. It is my belief that a weak body can be reflective of a weak mind, and my mind is anything but. In class, we have been discussing linear systems and solving them with matrix math. Using this knowledge, I will build a system consistent with my long-term goal of building mass and a functional physique.  The system will follow the conservation of mass. This is not a steady state system, and therefore will yield:

Δm/Δt= muscle hypertrophy (m ̇ ) + fat/water gain (m ̇) – muscle atrophy (m ̇ )

The matrix form of this and all other applicable systems is:

[A][x] = [b]

where is comprised of system parameters, b of forcing functions, and of responses to the system.

[A] = my current body, environment, and internal tools

[x] = muscle mass, increased strength and endurance, robust cardiovascular health, functional athletic prowess, and minimal fat gain

[b] = ???

Here, b is the golden ticket. I am after unique drivers that, in addition to the system parameters, will cause x to occur. The details of such a system are more complicated than this post lets on. However, the most basic components are a consistent training schedule, sufficient caloric intake, and adequate sleep. I’ll add some motivational videos for extrinsic encouragement; hearing CT Fletcher incite you while pushing weight is like having Lucifer breathing down your neck, waiting for you to crack, waiting for you to surrender. I will never give in. Never, never, never, never.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Conservation of Mass

  1. I got a good chuckle reading this. I too am an avid gym goer and saw the post and had to read. Good job relating class to a lifestyle. The governing equation would definitely be a multi order differential equation with respect to time. Could make the argument that for different age groups would require a different equation. Since as you get older the harder it gets. The CT Fletcher reference was clutch, ISYMFS!

    Like

  2. I’m still working on getting back in the weight room. I go an average of 1/week, but that isn’t sufficient for any type of growth. I do miss the high feeling I got after pumping 5 reps of some heavy weight. What program are you currently using? I used to work in a gym, and that was when my strength was at its peak (so far). I went through a 6 month period of trying to do everything right. Eating clean carbs, taking in about 6000 kCal/day, quality regiment, and sufficient sleep. In that 6 month period, I still couldn’t gain 10 lbs. Then I turned 21 and started working in a bar, and everything kind of slipped away after that. Now that play time is over, I am working on developing a routine that will allow me to exercise regularly. Right now I cycle and do some yoga, but I need to move heavy things to get big.

    Like

  3. Interesting post. This just made me wanna get back in the gym to gain my muscles back. I used to go to the gym three to four times a week but my school and work schedule will not allow me to go even once a week because I’m always tired.

    Like

Leave a Reply

